The Darrell Gwynn Foundation is proud to announce the induction of Jerry Gwynn to the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame

November 24th, 2014

Baby Huey

Remaining true to their auto racing roots, the Gwynn family will once again be honored by the prestigious Drag Racing Hall of Fame. Having previously inducted NHRA World Champion and Darrell Gwynn Foundation co-founder and president, Darrell Gwynn, for a decorated career of racing excellence, the Hall of Fame will soon recognize his father, Jerry Gwynn, for a lifetime of achievements on and off the race track. Just as Jerry and Darrell are the first father/son world champions in drag racing history, they are also the first father/son hall of famers.

About Jerry: 

Jerry Gwynn served on the Board for the Darrell Gwynn Foundation since its inception in 2002. In 2013, he remained on the board of directors as an advisor only. He no longer serves as a voting member of the board. Before this, Jerry spent 32 years working for the Chevron Corporation where he was construction and maintenance supervisor for all service stations in Southeast Florida. As a driver, Jerry Gwynn was an NHRA World Champion in 1969 (Super Eliminator). He also won four NHRA Southeast divisional titles. In September 1999, Gwynn, along with his wife Joan and son Darrell, was awarded drag racing’s most prestigious honor – The Ollie Award, for citizenship in the sport of drag racing, presented by Car Craft Magazine. Jerry resides in Davie, FL with Joan, his wife of 50 years.

International Drag Racing Hall of Fame inductees for 2015 announced

Ocala, Fla. (November 2, 2014) – The International Drag Racing Hall of Fame (IDRHOF), housed at the famed Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing (Ocala, Fla.) has revealed its inductee Class of 2015.  This group has a particular significance, as they mark the 25th anniversary of honoring significant individuals who contributed to the sport during their careers.

The induction ceremony will take place in Gainesville, Fla. at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites on Thursday, March 12, 2015, immediately preceding the NHRA Amalie Motor Oil Gatornationals.  Bob Frey, the very popular retired NHRA event announcer, will serve as the evening’s Master of Ceremonies.

The 2015 class of inductees is composed of a pair of Pro Stock legends, a colorfully successful Top Gas driver, two southeastern U.S. Funny Car drivers, a legendary crew chief, and one of the legendary names of the Modified sportsman class.

Lee Edwards (Calverton, Va.) – Lee (“The General”) Edwards was one of the most consistent IHRA (International Hot Rod Association) Pro Stock racers of the fabled Mountain Motor era.  He won IHRA World Championships in 1977 and 1978 by huge margins.

Shirl Greer (Kingsport, Tenn. – 1935-2010) – The late Shirl Greer, was for much of his racing career, a very popular and competitive funny car racer in the NHRA’s (National Hot Rod Association) Southeast Division (Division 3).  He rose to prominence by capturing the NHRA Funny Car World Champion in 1974 in a most unlikely manner, defeating the legendary Don Prudhomme in a dramatic final race of the season in Ontario, Calif.

Jerry Gwynn (Davie, Fla.) – Jerry Gwynn drove the famed “Baby Huey” AA/Altered blown Hemi/23 Ford to the NHRA’s Super Eliminator World Championship in 1969, sweeping the board on his way to the title.  He took the “Baby Huey” name to the Alcohol Funny Car class, and then became crew chief for his son, Darrell.  Jerry joins Darrell in the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame, becoming the first father-son honorees.

Butch Leal (Tulare, Calif.) – Butch Leal (“The California Flash”) was one of the “guys to beat” in the Super Stock, Modified or Pro Stock class when his hauler drove through the pit gate.  Leal’s notoriety began in the Super Stock class in 1964, finishing runner-up at the NHRA Winternationals, then winning the U.S. Nationals, the sport’s premier events.  He became the NHRA Super Stock World Champion in 1965.  In the 1970s, Butch raced the Super Stock, Modified, and Pro Stock classes with great success, always in the thick of championship battles.

Bob Muravez (Burbank, Calif.) – One of the most colorful drivers in the sport, Bob Muravez competed under the assumed name of Floyd Lippencote, Jr. to keep his racing activities from his parents.  Driving the fabled “Freight Train” Top Gas twin blown Chevys in the 1960s for John Peters, Muravez once went 28 rounds of racing without a loss, and breaking several Top Gas performance milestones in the course of over 1300 passes.

Bill Schultz (Pasadena, Calif.)  – Bill Schultz was a nitromethane-fueled engine-tuning wizard, and his exploits approached near legendary status.  In his early career, he applied his talents to Top Gas supercharged gasoline engines, then turned to nitro-powered cars.  He partner Gary Glenn made history in 1971 with the last front-engined dragster to win the NHRA Top Fuel World Championship.  Schultz spread his talents and influence across the spectrum of leading Top Fuel and Funny Car teams for another three decades.

Jess Van Deventer (National City, Calif.) – Jess Van Deventer was one of the NHRA’s earliest World Champions, winning the title in 1962.  Racing across the U.S., he dominated in a B/MR ’23 Ford T-Bucket powered by an injected 283 Chevy – unbeaten in 1961 and 1962.  After racing a successful Chevy powered Top Gas car in 1964, Van Deventer’s father passed away in early 1965, and he then devoted all of his time to supporting his mother and two sisters.  After retiring from racing, he became a successful businessman in National City, Calif. in auto parts retailing, construction, and real estate development.

Founder’s AwardDave Densmore (Elgin, Tex.) is one of the most visible and respected public relations specialists in motorsports.  Beginning as a writer for the Amarillo (Tex.) Globe-News, Densmore joined the NHRA’s Publicity Department and then formed Denswood Sports Marketing in 1982 with good friend, Steve Earwood.  His clients have been the sport’s top names: Raymond Beadle, Gary Beck, Kenny Bernstein, Candies & Hughes, John Force Racing, Billy Meyer, Reher & Morrison, and Steve Torrence.  Densmore received the prestigious Jim Chapman Award for Excellence in Motorsports Public Relations from the American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) in 2007.

The honorees are selected by a committee of veteran drag racing and performance industry figures.  The selection committee consists of: Steve Gibbs (Retired Vice President, NHRA), Harry Hibler (President, UNI-Marketing, LLC), Ted Jones (Masters Entertainment, Retired President, IHRA) and Greg Sharp (Curator, Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum).

The presenters will be named in the future.

Ticket details and additional information are available by calling or emailing Donna Garlits at: (352) 245- 8661 or (877) 271-3278 toll free, fax (352) 245- 6895, email:

The Don Garlits Drag Racing Hall of Fame is recognized as a 501(c)3 educational not-for-profit organization.

Tags: , , , ,